Uncork

Apps for Windows games on a Mac, compared

Updated 29 September 2026 · facts about other projects taken from their public pages on that day

We make Uncork and have a stake in this comparison, so we start with where others are stronger than us. Facts about other projects come from their public pages on 29 September 2026; we did not run their apps. What a project says about itself is marked “as described”: we could not check it ourselves. If something is out of date or wrong, write to hello@uncork.win and we will fix it.

Where others are stronger than Uncork

The table

All facts come from the projects' public pages on 29 September 2026. “As described” marks a claim by the project that we did not verify.

AppPrice and codeStoresNotarizationWhat is verified
Uncork5 € a month or 50 € a year, three days free; closed sourceSteam and Epic tested, five more stores are in the list marked “not tested”no: signed with an Apple Development certificate (not Developer ID), first launch confirmed by handfive games, three with measurements on one Mac
Highballfree, GPL-3.0; betaSteam and Epic; per the README also Rockstar and the EA app (with the second engine); sign-in windows for Ubisoft Connect and Battle.net appear, but no game has been played through them yetyes, as described by the site19 of 293 games in the database verified by hand on hardware
Whisky fork (frankea)free, GPL-3.0; macOS 15 and laterper the README Steam, Epic, EA App, Rockstar, Battle.netyes, as described by the READMEa built-in database of 83 per-game configs (README says 80+), most marked unverified
Sikarugirfree (has a donation button), part of it under LGPL-2.1; macOS 14.6 and latera wrapper builder for individual games, not a store librarythe project does not sayno official compatibility database found
Porting Kitfree, pay what you want; not stated to be open sourceGOG, Steam, Ubisoft Connect, EA/Origin, Battle.net; no Epicthe project does not saya database of about 1,500 entries per the site's list
GameHub for Macprice not stated on the page; the client's source is not published (the GitHub repository is only an issue tracker); public betaSteam on the official page; Epic per press reportsthe project does not sayper a video by Russ Crandall (Retro Game Corps), relayed by MacStories in April 2026, about 60% of 20 games not available on the Mac were playable, some after tweaking
Heroicfree, GPL-3.0; macOS 14 and later, Apple Silicon and IntelEpic, GOG, Amazon; no Steamthe project does not sayno official compatibility database found
Bourbon 26$29.99 or more, once, for three Macs; the app is closed, the recipes and compatibility data are open (Bourbon-OSS, MIT)as described: Steam; Epic, GOG and Amazon through Heroic; Battle.net, EA and Ubisoft launchersyes, as describedas described: a verified profile per game; open data in Bourbon-OSS (size not counted)
Pixel Portfree beta, macOS 14 and laterSteam only (per the site)yes, as described (release notes 0.4.9)the site claims 71 of 11,046 entries are verified

“The project does not say” means one thing only: the pages we read have nothing on it, not that it is not notarized.

How Uncork differs

By default Uncork and Highball stand on engine builds from one project, Sikarugir, though Highball also has its own newer engine; the main difference is what is built on top. For Uncork that is input and what surrounds it:

WhatUncorkOther projects, per the pages we read
The mouse is read from the device itself, at up to 1000 Hzyes, measurements on the mouse pagenot mentioned
Logitech wheel force feedbackG923 tested in Assetto Corsa, G29 supported in codenot claimed as a feature; third-party utilities such as Torqer also provide it on the Mac
Frame evening for single-player gamesyes, measured in CS2: 87% even intervals against 18%not mentioned
macOS Game Mode for Windows gamesyesnot mentioned
Gamepada mode that moves the pointer on the Mac while no game is runningHighball has a controller section in its docs, the Whisky fork has a controller compatibility mode, Porting Kit has joystick mapping, GameHub has a “gamepad bridge” (per its tracker), and in Heroic a gamepad can drive the launcher itself; we found no mode for driving the Mac with no game running

“Not mentioned” covers only the pages we read: READMEs, sites, docs and articles, not the code. Also, similar changes for the mouse have already been proposed in shared Mac code, so the picture may change in time.

How to choose

Limits of this comparison

We did not run other people's apps and did not compare speed: our frame-rate measurements are from one Mac and only in Uncork. Prices and versions change, so every row of the table has one date of checking, 29 September 2026. Projects' claims about notarization, the number of verified games and stores are given as claims. If you know better, write to us.

Read next

Get access

← Back to the main page